The colour of diamonds are assessed based on the lack of colour. A chemically pure and perfectly formed diamond will have no hue and therefore a much higher value. The D to Z grading system measures the degree of colourlessness in the diamond with D being colourless and continues to Z as colour becomes more visible.


Diamonds are commonly subject to internal characteristics known as “inclusions” and external characteristics known as “blemishes”. Diamond clarity involves calculating the number, size, relief, nature and position of these characteristics. The scale of clarity ranges from Flawless to Included:



Internally Flawless

Very, Very Slightly Included

Very Slightly Included

Slightly Included



Diamond Cut refers to the shape of the diamond which can tell us how well a diamond’s facets interact with light.

The final beauty and value of the diamond relies heavily on the quality of the cut and of all the 4Cs, it is the most technically difficult to analyse. There are seven components which are considered when grading a diamond’s cut. 

Brightness, Fire and Scintillation asses the appearance of the diamond face up. Weight Ratio, Durability, Polish and Symmetry assess the design and craftsmanship of the diamond. 


Diamond weight is measured in ‘“carats” with 1ct being equivalent to 200 milligrams. A carat can then be divided into 100 points allowing for precise measurements to the hundredth decimal. Carat has the biggest influence on the price of a diamond out of the 4Cs. As the carat weight increases, the price of the diamond increases exponentially as larger diamonds are more rare and desirable. Nevertheless, two diamonds of equal carat weight can be very differently priced depending on the other 3 factors of the 4Cs.

  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

020 7405 9298

103 Hatton Garden, London EC1N 8LY, UK

©2018 by Bronze®.